Temporary Protected Status

Temporary Protected Status (TPS) allows people from certain countries to temporarily live and work in the United States. The U.S. government designates the countries based on armed conflict, environmental disasters or other extraordinary and temporary conditions in those countries. People from those countries who are in the U. S. on the effective date and are still in the U.S. can apply for TPS. TPS is granted for several months at a time, but when a country’s designation is extended, people with TPS from that country must re-register.

The current designated countries for TPS are:

  • El Salvador
  • Guinea
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • Liberia (TPS ends on 5/20/2017)
  • Nepal
  • Nicaragua
  • Sierra Leone (TPS ends on 5/21/2017)
  • Somalia
  • Sudan
  • South Sudan
  • Syria (TPS was redesignated on 8/1/2016)
  • Yemen

We assist clients in determining eligibility, applying and re-registering for TPS.

Contact us for a consultation regarding Temporary Protected Status.